Oh-My-Zsh Configuration Guide for MacOs Terminal

theUnknown
3 min readMay 9, 2019

Zsh?

Oh-My-Zsh is a framework for Zsh, the Z shell.

Oh-my-Zsh configuration turned out to be not so straight-forward with instructions being scattered all over, so I decided to gather it all in one place.

Follow the steps to set up and configure oh-my-zsh in your terminal and customize it by adding additional plugins like docker commands completion, syntax highlighting and zsh-completions.

Also feel free to use my current working .zshrc file for reference and adjust it according to your own needs.

Step 1: Install Zsh

brew install zsh

What is Homebrew?

It is a command-line tool that helps you install open source command line utilities with a one liner.

If you don’t have it installed yet, type the command below in your terminal:

/usr/bin/ruby -e "$(curl -fsSL https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Homebrew/install/master/install)"

Install and set up zsh as default

If necessary, follow these steps to install Zsh:

-Verify installation by running zsh — version. Expected result: zsh 5.1.1 or more recent.

--

--

theUnknown

Everything is unknown until it’s known. Self-learner.