Prisma + GraphQL. Project Setup Pt1

theUnknown
4 min readJan 14, 2020

So, I started to work on my personal portfolio as an aspiring Junior Frontend developer before I switched my career to Security Analyst :D

At my previous job we were building an internal testing tool (top secret stuff), and the stack we used was pretty trendy on the frontend side, it was React with Typescript and other friends.

So, I wanted to develop my skillset further, and on top of that learn a bit of backend, while building a personal project for my portfolio.

I would probably do something with NodeJS, Express, MongoDB and React-Typescript, since I actually wasn’t sure about the backend, and at the same time I didn’t want to go that deep into it rather just having fun while building my precious UI.

But then my colleague told me to look into Prisma and GraphQL… and I was sold!

The Stack

Backend

  • Prisma v 1.34 — an open source library, that sort of sits on top of your database and provides a full-featured GraphQL API that you can use to interact with the…

--

--

theUnknown

Everything is unknown until it’s known. Self-learner.